Happy Memorial Day

Memorial Day, originally call Decoration Day, is a day of remembrance for those who died in the service of our country. One of those brave men was my great, great grandfather, Daniel Johns (1825 − 1862). He died while serving in the South Carolina Infantry, Co. B 18 Reg’t C , during the Civil War, leaving behind a wife and four small children.

And I’m proud to be an American,
where at least I know I’m free.
And I won’t forget the men who died,
who gave that right to me.
~Lee Greenwood

Leave a Reply

