Genealogy Odyssey

Next weekend I embark on a Genealogy Odyssey. My purpose is to research the McGraw/ Johns and Jenkins/ Crawford lines. I plan to visit the birthplace of both of my grandparents.

Rome, Floyd, Georgia was where my grandmother, Sarah Edna Jenkins was born and also where her father, Charles J. Jenkins, was born and married her mother Mollie Mary Crawford. Charles’ father John Ballad (Ballard) Jenkins shows up in the 1850 census as living in Rome, Floyd, Georgia and his occupation is listed as a carpenter. This is also where the Rhudys and Comers come into the pictures. So the roots run deep here. I have been lucky and have been having email conversations with two cousins, Dale and Gretchen.  They have both given me so much information about the Jenkins, Rhudys and Comers and also where to search for information in Rome. I am in search of the parents of John Ballad Jenkins. 

Another place I am visiting is Union County, South Carolina. This is where my grandfather, John Erasmus McGraw, was born. His father, Christopher Malachi (Mallie) McGraw, married his mother Mary E. Johns. Mary was the daughter of Daniel Johns who served in Company B, 18th Infantry Regiment of South Carolina during the Civil War. He died on 10 Feb 1862 while serving in the army. I have Daniel and his family living in Santuc, Union, South Carolina in the 1850 and 1860 censuses, but cannot find them after his death. I am wondering if Emily, his wife remarried, as she had four minor children when he died. I also have Mallie McGraw living in Fish Dam, Union, SC with his wife Mary and their two oldest sons, Lucius Earnest and Daniel E.  Cousin Frank has provided me with a few cemeteries to visit. I will be looking for the parents of Mallie McGraw.

I am visiting one other ancestral land and tamy comerhat is Grayson County, Virginia.  Both Jacob Rhudy and John Comer were pioneer settlers of that county and were revolutionary patriots. There is a landmark called Comer’s Rock that was the family land.  I will be trying to prove Amy Comer  to John Comer.

Along the way I will be visiting friends and family and doing research in Columbia SC and Raleigh NC.

Mk

.

Leave a Reply

