Sentimental Sunday

Today is Sentimental Sunday where I am to discuss a sentimental story or memory about an ancestor, or maybe even a family tradition that touches me. As I like a visual I looked through my collection of family photos and found this one:

cook brothers loop de loop

This is one of my grandmother, Jessie Cook Sain’s, photos that I have that came from her mother, May A. Young Cook’s, photo album. The contraption is called a Looped-de-Loop and was built by the Cook brothers, Joe, Gilbert, Jim and Phillip on the Cook property on State Avenue in Texarkana, Arkansas in the early part of the 20th century, probably the later part of 1900- 1910. The boys preformed some kind of dare devil stunts. I think that is some kind of wagon or vehicle that they are sitting on that they rode on the contraption. From what my grandmother said the ride was hair raising and packed with thrills. They all seemed to have survived.

I cannot imagine seeing something like this today, except maybe in skateboarding.

Leave a Reply

