Family History Expo

Last weekend I attended the Family History Expo in Duluth Georgia. In fact seven members of the Bay County Genealogical Society attended.  As I have not been doing very much genealogy this event really help restart my enthusiasm. This week I have been on the computer trying to follow up with what I learned at the Expo. Of course I got side tracked and found a wealth of information on the Elijah Merrell (1826-1904)branch of the family on Findagrave . If you follow the link there are pictures, a short bio and links to other family members. And also found some good information pictures at Ancestry.com. Elijah was my 2nd great grand uncle and the brother to my direct descendant John William Merrell (1815-1899), and was the first pastor of Greenville (Mineral Springs) Baptist Church.  John William Merrell (1815-1899). So that was fun.

I also spent the week fine tuning my presentation on Flag3.com for the Bay County Genealogical Society.

1 Comment

  1. Ray Whitney said,

    February 19, 2012 at 4:25 am

    I’m Ray Whitney, living in Texarkana, Texas. Tonight I met the mother of a friend, now 86 years old, who was a violin student of your aunt Cora Cook Thomas from about 1930 to 1932. I am restoring the violin used in the lessons taken with your aunt. I’m anxious to contact you to perhaps exchange some photos and other information.

    Regards,
    Ray Whitney


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

