One Mystery Solved

I have a few lines in my ancestry that I can only go back a few generations. On my paternal side, one is the McGraw line, where I can only go back to my great grandfather, Christopher Malachi McGraw (1852-1933).  His death certificate states that his father is R. McGraw and his mother is unknown. I do know that his mother’s name is Betsy, as I found her in the 1870 census in Fish Dam, Union, South Carolina, with her children. Malachi’s wife was Mary E. Johns (1852-?). With the Johns I can go back one more generation to her parents, Daniel Johns (1825-1862) and Emily( 1830-?)

May Agnes Young (1866-1938)

My maternal side is very well researched, except for my great grandmother, May (Mary) Agnes Young’s (1866-1938) heritage.  I have know that her father was Francis A.Young (1833-1904) and her mother was Mary (1846-?) for quite awhile. When I visited my uncle last year, he has some of my great uncle Jim Cook’s (1891-1970) genealogy papers.  Uncle Jim was doing genealogy in the 1960’s when I knew him. I was in high school and college at this time and did not pay too much attention to what he was saying about the family at that time. I sure wished I had. But anyway, his papers said that he thought Francis’ father was William H. Junge. To date I have not found a connection. In these papers he said that Mary was Mary C. Harrison. At the time I could not find proof of that.

But then a couple of weeks ago, I had remembered a Genealogy Tip of the Day that advised to check out Family Search every few weeks. So I searched and found her in “District of Columbia Marriages, 1811-1950.”  It states that Francis A. Young and Mary C. Harrison, married on 12 Mar 1866.  That was so exciting to confirm that her maiden name was Harrison and to get their marriage date.  In Uncle Jim’s paper he alluded that she was related to President Harrison.  I then found her in the 1860 & 1850 census living with her parents Robert H. Harrison(1814-?) and Margaret (1822-?).  At this point I am guessing Margaret’s maiden name as Williams, as a William Williams, age 57 was living with them in 1850. I may be wrong but it is a place to explore in the meantime.

Yesterday was the Bay County Genealogical Society board meeting and some of us went out to lunch afterwards. I was telling them about my discovery and how excited I was and they all sat there and nodded understanding my excitement.  It sure is nice to belong to a group that understand what you are doing and why.  I sure wish other counties had as good of a web site as ours.

MK

 

 

1 Comment

  1. August 8, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    [...] In my research lately I am trying to focus on those lines where I seem to have road blocs. One of these is the Harrison line as I mentioned earlier in this blog.  [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

