DNA

I have been trying to learn about DNA and using it as a tool in genealogical research. I enrolled at 23andme.com and sent them my DNA sample. In return they genotype my DNA. What that means is that they test and determine which genetic variants I possess.  Once the testing had been done I received the results on line. At 23andme.com. Part of the results concerned health issues and showed me what health risks I had inherited which was interesting.

But the part I am enjoying the most is the relative finder.  I have been conversing with a few new cousins and trying to find out how we are related. Some of them are so organized in how they share information and some are new like me.

It has gotten me back into research. I started working on the Ligon line. My most recent Ligon ancestor was Sarah Ligon (1776- ?), my 4th great grandmother.  She was married to John Cook (1780-1830). The Ligon line is well researched and it connections are traced back to the 13th century. On HeritageQuest.com, the 998 page book entitlled, “The Ligon Family and Connections,” by William D. Ligon, published in 1947 is available, and I have been reading through it the last few days and adding information to my family tree. Of course as usually the case, Sarah’s line is not as well documented as some others.

But, the book is full of early Virginia history,  The immigrant and patriarch of the family in America was Colonel Thomas Ligon (1624-1676) of Madresfield, Worcestershire, England. He was a grandson of a second son and had little chance of inheriting much. At age 16 he  came to Jamestown, Virginia, in 1641, with is near kinsman, Sir William Berkeley, Royal Governor of Virginia. In the various records of the counties of Virginia, in reference to Colonel Thomas Ligon and his descendants, the name Ligon is spelled Lygon, Lyggon, Liggon, Liggan, Liggin, Ligon, and Leagan.

He married Mary Harris, the daughter of Capt. Thomas Harris, and they were the parents of 7 children. He was a member of the House of Burgesses at Jamestown,  where he was a member of “ye Committee for private Causes.”  He was a justice for Charles City County 1 August 1657,  a militia colonel, and county surveyor from 1667 to his death in 1675.

1 Comment

  1. Janice Cronan said,

    July 30, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    I really like this Blog. You have a way of making everything so interesting. Thanks for your help on ming. JMC


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

