Childhood Illnesses

I have been remiss in not posting for awhile. I got busy and time just flew by. Does that ever happen to you? I got behind on the Geneabloggers’ 52 Weeks of Personal History. But I will start again with this weeks’ prompt  which is Illness and Injury.

The one childhood illness I remember is when I got the chichenpox. We were living in a quonset hut on the base at Boca Chica Naval Air Station. Childhood illnesses ran rampart in the quonset hut community as there were lots of small children and the quarters were close to each other. I must have been about 5 years old. I spent days on the couch staring at the barkcloth curtains.  My love affair with barkcloth probably started then. As this was before the days of television,  I am not sure how I entertained myself but I probably did not feel too well and drifted in and out of sleep.

The other time of childhood illness I remember is in Hutchinson, Kansas. My father was stationed at the Naval Air Station that used to be there. I must have been about 9 or 10 at the time. I woke up one morning and I could not walk. There was enough concern by my parents that they took me to the doctors. On the way we passed Mennonites driving buggies.  The doctor’s diagnosis was that I grew too fast and my medicine was to drink soft drinks.  So when we got home I lolled on the couch watching television and drinking cokes. It only lasted a few days but I had a great time while it lasted.

Luckily these were the worst things that happened to me as a child. I basically enjoyed good health.

MK

1 Comment

  1. Alison Hutt said,

    March 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Interesting background. Did your family have a quonset hut all to yourselves? They looked kind of big from the Wikipedia pictures. Did you mom fix it up inside so it was more like a home?

    I wish lounging and soft drinks would be the antidote to more ills! Thanks for your post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

