Favorite Food

I haven’t had much of a chance to post lately. But I couldn’t let the Geneabloggers’ prompt for this week go unwritten. This week’s prompt is “Favorite Food.” 

I really do not remember oneimage favorite food in particular, but I do have some good food memories. I was not particular fond of milk and my mother was always trying to find ways for me to get my calcium. One of my favorites was grilled cheese sandwiches and Campbell’s Cream of Tomato soup.

I used to like to eat peanut butter by the spoonful (in fact I still like to do that) and my mother would scold me when she caught me. As a child I never could figure out why she did that. My only guess is that I was probably double dipping my spoon into the peanut butter. My siblings liked to eat sugar by the spoonful; I never cared about that.

For my birthday I always liked to have an angel food cake with chocolate icing. The cake was always store bought as my mother did not bake cakes. But often the frosting was put on at home.

Anotheimager favorite food memory was when we would visit Texarkana and my Aunt Florene would take us out to eat at the local hamburger  joint. I liked my hamburger with lettuce, tomato, mustard and pickles (I still like them that way though now I eat turkey burgers instead). And of course they had to be accompanied by French Fries.

As a child I was a fussy eater and not real adventuresome as far as food was concerned. But while living in Hutchinson Kansas, I discoverimageed Mexican food. My first introduction to this food genre was when I was in fourth grade. One of my girl friend’s mother made and sold Mexican food from her home kitchen. I would often visit my friend after school. One game we use to play was Statues, in which we would be spun around and assume funny positions.  Her mom would treat us with hot buttered tortillas hot off the grill. Yum, Yum. I graduated to tacos when my parents would buy them from her and bring them home for dinner. Today Mexican food is a staple in our house.

Till next time, MK

2 Comments

  1. January 31, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    You can never go wrong with grilled cheese sandwiches and Tomato Soup. Maybe that’s what I’ll fix tonight!

  2. liblady495 said,

    February 9, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    My cousin fixed it for lunch yesterday, during the snowstorm, at Arlington, Ks. A combination that can’t be beat.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

