Cars

This week’s topic in Geneabloggers prompts for “52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy and History” is Cars.

image

My first car is one I purchased with my first husband, Loren E. Davis. It was a green Ford Maverick. This had to have been about1970. Before that he had a white Chevrolet Corvair.  The Corvair in my opinion was a very bad car design wise and had lots of problems. When I was pregnant with my first daughter, Mary, and living in the Santa Barbara area, it used to stall out and I would have to get out and push it to get it started again. Luckily people would see me and come over and help. Also we would drive from Santa Barbara to LA in it and on U.S. Highway 101 there is a steep hill that we would pray the car would get over. As we approached the zenith each time the car would lose power and go down to 35 miles an hour max. people behind us would get irritated if they could not pass us.

The Maverick served me well and was my car, as Loren had a company car he used. I used to pile in  the girls and neighborhood kids when we lived in the Valley and head to Malibu or Zuma Beach. I really enjoyed driving Malibu Canyon Road with its twists and turns. Other times I would take the girls to the LA zoo or the museums or anyplace in in LA that sounded educational or fun.

The car lasted as long as my marriage. The Maverick began to die on the Cahuenga Pass when I would go to pick up or return the girls to  the Valley from Huntington Beach, my new home after 10 years of marriage. The judge at my divorce proceeding laughed when Loren said that the Maverick was an asset I was getting. I retained my maiden name and got a new car all at the same time.

After the Maverick my cars have included a Toyota Tercel, a white VW Sirocco, a red Toyota 4 wheel station wagon, a grey Toyota truck, a few non descript, immemorial cars I had when I sold real estate, a red PT Cruiser and my current navy VW Passat, which I really like.

To me, cars mean independence. When a teenager I could venture out on my own. As a young adult and mother I could seek out adventures with my girls. As a professional, I could relocated anywhere in the country.  As a REALTOR and then sales rep, I could earn a living. Currently my car allows me to be involved in my community and visit other parts of the country. If that day comes when it is no longer save for me to drive, I think it will a sad day for me.

In fact I feel so lucky to be living in an age and country where I have such freedom and mobility. I often wonder how different my life would have been if raised in a more restrictive time or country. Topic for another day.

 

MK

3 Comments

  1. January 18, 2011 at 11:26 am

    […] just stumbled upon a wonderful article by mkaymac, posted yesterday, and entitled Cars « MK's Family Page that I suggest all of you read. I’ve included a few little excerpts in the hope of piquing […]

  2. Joshua said,

    January 18, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Hello mkaymac, I have a blog (on which I assume the name `cars2scrap’) and I loved this article so much that I have urged my visitors to take a look. (Take a look at the latest blog post on my blog.) I just wanted to say thanks for writing it.

  3. January 31, 2011 at 5:08 am

    My first car was tiny by any standards. It was a Metropolitan, and so small that I could reach into the trunk (the back seat folded forward) while sitting in the driver’s seat. I remember filling the tank for three dollars. Wish I still had it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

