Day 1

I have been wanting to start a genealogy blog for a while. Plus at the Bay County Genealogical Society’s Spring Seminar, I am going to be doing a segment on Genealogy Blogs so I figured I should have one.

Yesterday on We Tree mention was made of  52 Weeks of Better Genealogy. This weeks challenge is to visit the public library and make a list of all the books that might help you in your research. So I hope to do that tomorrow.

Today at GeneaBloggers is Madness Monday. The ancestor that is driving me mad is the father of Christopher Malachi McGraw (19 Dec 1852 -6 Aug 1933) whose  name is not know. Malachi is my great-grandfather and the earliest two records of him are a marriage announcement in a Union County church announcement and the 1880 census having him living in Fish Dam, SC.  I have a distant cousin who talked to my father in the 1970′s and my father said he remember’s stories of my grandfather’s about being a witness to the burning of Atlanta when he was a boy. This cousin also believes that the ggrandmother’s name is Elizabeth Dalman, but I have not been able to prove any of this. So I continue to search.  I hope to make a trip to SC this Spring and he is the main person I will be researching.

2 Comments

  1. Mr WordPress said,

    January 4, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Janice Moore Cronan said,

    October 15, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Thanks so much for the information you shared about blogging in the Spring Seminar. I am really enjoying reading your blog. I like how you have been able to make future plans for research, and then see “the fruits of your labor” in later posts.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

